## Pennsylvania's School Bus Stopping Law

School bus safety is a high priority in Pennsylvania. Students, parents, teachers, administrators, transportation providers and the motoring public all play important roles in keeping our children safe while on or around the school bus.

- When you meet a stopped school bus with red signal lights flashing and stop arm extended, you MUST STOP.
- When you approach an intersection where a school bus is stopped with red signal lights flashing and stop arm extended, you MUST STOP, whether you are on the same street or the cross street.
- You MUST STOP at least 10 feet away from the school bus.
- Drivers do not have to stop on a highway with clearly defined dividing sections or physical barriers providing separate roadways. This only applies when the school bus is on the opposite side of the road.
- You MUST WAIT until the red lights have stopped flashing and the stop arm has been withdrawn before moving.
- DO NOT MOVE until all the children have reached a place of safety.

## **PENALTIES**

If you are convicted of violating Pennsylvania's School Bus Stopping Law, you will receive <u>all</u> of the following penalties:

- 60-Day Driver's License Suspension
- Five (5) points on your driving record
- \$250 Fine

The penalties listed above apply when passing a school bus that is not equipped with a side stop signal arm enforcement system.

If you are issued a violation for passing a school bus equipped with a side stop signal arm enforcement system, you will receive a \$300 fine if found liable.

For more information about the school bus stopping law and to see photo examples, visit <a href="https://www.dmv.pa.gov">www.dmv.pa.gov</a>.

## **School Bus Safety Tips**

- Caregivers should take an active role in promoting school bus safety with children.
- · Children should always be walked to and from the bus stop.
- Get to the school bus stop five minutes early so students don't have to run across the road to catch the bus.
- Children should be supervised at the bus stop.
- · When waiting for the bus, stay away from traffic. Line up at least five giant steps away from the curb or the roadway to wait for the bus.
- Students should walk at least 10 feet in front of the bus when crossing so the school bus driver can see them.
- Never cross the street behind the school bus.
- Students should wait until the school bus has stopped all traffic before stepping out into the road.

