Begin Main Content Area

More than 80 Police Departments across Southeast Pennsylvania to Target Aggressive Drivers during Statewide Mobilization


King of Prussia, PA – The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) announced today that more than 80 municipal police departments from Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties will join the Pennsylvania State Police in a coordinated aggressive driving enforcement wave to help reduce the number of crashes, injuries, and fatalities on area roadways as part of a statewide mobilization that runs through November 14.

The enforcement wave will focus on the Move Over Law, school bus safety, speeding, and tailgating. Motorists exhibiting other aggressive actions or unsafe behaviors may also be cited.

Law enforcement will use traffic enforcement zones, saturation patrols, speed enforcement details, corridor enforcement, work zone enforcement, and multi-jurisdictional patrol strategies to identify and cite aggressive drivers. 

The enforcement is part of Pennsylvania’s Highway Safety Program and is funded by part of PennDOT’s investment of federal funds from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

If you encounter an aggressive driver, PennDOT offers these tips:  
  • Get out of their way and don't challenge them.
  • Stay relaxed, avoid eye contact, and ignore rude gestures.
  • Don't block the passing lane if you are driving slower than most of the traffic.
In 2020, there were 5,615 aggressive driving crashes, resulting in 91 fatalities and 401 suspected serious injuries. Aggressive driving crashes are crashes involving at least two aggressive driving factors in the same crash. Factors include, but are not limited to, running stop signs or red lights, tailgating, careless turning or passing, and driving too fast for conditions.

To learn more about aggressive driving and other PennDOT safety initiatives, visit

PennDOT’s media center offers resources for safety organizations, community groups, or others who share safety information with their stakeholders. Social-media-sized graphics highlighting topics such as seat belts, impaired driving, and distracted driving can be found online at in the “Media Center” under the “About Us” footer. 
For regional updates, follow PennDOT on Twitter at and join the Greater Philly Area PennDOT Facebook group at

MEDIA CONTACT: Krys Johnson, 610-205-6797

Editor’s Note: The following police departments in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties will participate in the current aggressive driving mobilization:

Bucks County:
Bedminster Township
Bensalem Township
Bristol Township
Buckingham Township
Doylestown Township
Falls Township
Hilltown Township
Lower Southampton Township
Middletown Township
New Britain Township
Newtown Township
Northampton Township
Penndel Borough
Plumstead Township
Quakertown Borough
Richland Township
Solebury Township
Warrington Township
Warwick Township
Yardley Borough

Chester County:
Caln Township
Coatesville Borough
Downingtown Borough
East Coventry Township
Easttown Township
North Coventry Township
Southern Chester County Regional 
Tredyffrin Township
Upper Uwchlan Township
Uwchlan Township
West Brandywine Township
West Chester Borough
West Goshen Township
Westtown-East Goshen Township
Willistown Township

Delaware County:
Aston Township
Bethel Township
Chester City
Chester Township
Eddystone Borough
Glenolden Borough
Haverford Township
Marple Township
Lansdowne Borough
Newtown Township
Radnor Township
Ridley Township
Springfield Township
Upland Borough
Upper Darby Township
Upper Providence Township
Yeadon Borough

Montgomery County:
Abington Township
Bridgeport Borough
Cheltenham Township
Conshohocken Borough
Douglas Township
Franconia Township
Hatfield Township
Jenkintown Borough
Limerick Township
Lower Merion Township
Lower Moreland Township
Lower Pottsgrove Township
Lower Providence Township
Montgomery Township
New Hanover Township
Norristown Borough
Plymouth Township
Pottstown Borough
Towamencin Township
Upper Dublin Township
Upper Merion Township
Upper Moreland Township
Upper Pottsgrove Township
West Conshohocken Borough
West Norriton Township
West Pottsgrove Township
Whitemarsh Township
Whitpain Township

Philadelphia County:

# # #