Begin Main Content Area

More than 60 Police Departments Across Southeast Pennsylvania Target Aggressive Drivers during Statewide Mobilization


Upper Moreland, PA – The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) joined state and local police, Buckle Up Pa and AAA Mid-Atlantic today in Upper Moreland Township, Montgomery County, to highlight a statewide aggressive-driving mobilization that runs through August 26.

The Pennsylvania State Police, along with 62 municipal police departments from Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery counties and Philadelphia, will take part in the wave to target motorists exhibiting aggressive-driving behaviors including running red lights, failing to stop at stop signs, and speeding.

Participating agencies will use traffic enforcement zones, saturation patrols, speed enforcement details, corridor enforcement, work zone enforcement and multi-jurisdictional patrol strategies to identify and cite aggressive drivers.

Since the project was launched in 2006, nearly 600 roadways have been targeted with additional enforcement and education.

According to PennDOT data, there were 1,840 crashes and 31 fatalities in 2017 in Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties in which aggressive-driving was a factor.

If you encounter an aggressive driver, PennDOT offers these tips: 

  •  Get out of their way and don't challenge them;
  • Stay relaxed, avoid eye contact and ignore rude gestures; and
  • Don't block the passing lane if you are driving slower than most of the traffic.

To learn more about aggressive-driving and other PennDOT safety initiative visit

For regional Twitter updates follow

MEDIA CONTACT: Ayanna Williams, 610-205-6798

# # #

Editor’s Note: The following police departments in Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery counties will participate in the current aggressive-driving mobilization:

Bucks County:

Richland Township
Bensalem Township
Buckingham Township
Doylestown Township
Middletown Township
Lower Southampton Township
Warrington Township
Upper Southampton Township
Yardley Borough
Bristol Township
New Britain Township
Hilltown Township
Northampton Township
Penndel Borough
Warwick Township

Chester County:

Caln Township
Downingtown Borough
East Whiteland Township
Easttown Township
Kennett Township
Southern Chester County Regional PD (SCCRPD)
Schuylkill Township
Tredyffrin Township
Uwchlan Township
West Brandywine Township
West Goshen Township
West Whiteland Township
Westtown-East Goshen Township
Willistown Township

Delaware County:

Aston Township
Haverford Township
Marple Township
Newtown Township
Radnor Township
Ridley Township
Springfield Township
Upper Darby Township
Upper Providence Township
Yeadon Borough

Montgomery County:

Abington Township
Cheltenham Township
Douglass Township
East Norriton Township
Hatfield Township
Horsham Township
Limerick Township
Lower Gwynedd Township
Lower Merion Township
Lower Moreland Township
Lower Pottsgrove Township
Lower Providence Township
Montgomery Township
New Hanover Township
Plymouth Township
Pottstown Borough
Towamencin Township
Upper Dublin Township
Upper Merion Township
Upper Moreland Township
Upper Providence Township
Whitemarsh Township