Begin Main Content Area

​Paint the Plow

The Paint the Plow Program is a way for PennDOT and local communities to cultivate public awareness and promote winter driving safety on state roadways.

Paint the Plow Logo

This year, participating high-school students will have a chance to demonstrate their creativity by designing and creating original artwork on a snowplow that  showcases the 2023-2024 theme: 

Seat Belts are Always in Season

All schools are encouraged to participate in the Paint the Plow program. It is a way for schools and PennDOT to partner to let students' creativity bring awareness to the important work plows do during the winter months. 

Judging and Voting

The “Judges’ Pick” honor is determined by PennDOT personnel and based on creativity and ability to incorporate the designated safety message/theme. Members of the public were also invited to vote for a "Fan Favorite" winner between January 8 and 15, 2024. 

Click the county names below to view all the winners and participants in each district.   





Crawford, Erie, Forest, Mercer, Venango, Warren

​Saxon Daugherty - 


Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Elk, Juniata, McKean, Mifflin, Potter

​Tim Nebgen -


Bradford, Columbia, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Union

​While this area does not offer Paint the Plow, you can contact Kim Smith at for other collaboration opportunities. 


Lackawanna, Luzerne, Pike, Susquehanna, Wayne, Wyoming

Elizabeth Fabri -


Berks, Carbon, Lehigh, Monroe, Northampton, Schuylkill

​Sean Brown -


​Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Philadelphia

While this area does not offer Paint the Plow, you can contact Krys Johnson at for other collaboration opportunities. 


​Adams, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry, York

While this area does not offer Paint the Plow, you can contact Fritzi Schreffler at for other collaboration opportunities.


Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Fulton, Huntingdon, Somerset

​Monica Owens -


Armstrong, Butler, Clarion, Indiana, Jefferson

​Tina Gibbs - 


Allegheny, Beaver, Lawrence

​Yasmeen Manyisha - 


Fayette, Greene, Washington, Westmoreland

​Melissa Maczko -



Expand AllClick here for a more accessible version

 Content Editor