Begin Main Content Area

 PA.AgencyPortal.WebParts.Blogging - BlogPostWebPart

PennDOT honors its 2019 Stars of Excellence

June 11, 2019 12:00 AM
By: Larissa Newton

Blog Header Image

Every year, PennDOT recognizes some of its most innovative employees who exemplify our mission to provide the very best transportation services to Pennsylvanians every day. Recently, 30 employees from around the state were given a Star of Excellence Award, the agency's highest recognition.

"Every day, I am reminded of our employees' dedication, their excellent customer service, and in many cases, their sacrifices," said PennDOT Secretary Leslie S. Richards. "The accomplishments of our Stars of Excellence exemplify PennDOT's mission to provide the very best transportation services to Pennsylvanians every day."

From the descriptions of our Stars' achievements, you will see how the day-to-day work of exceptional individuals spells great success for PennDOT: significant savings for taxpayers, improved service delivery, and advancements in safety and productivity.

Winners of the 2019 Star of Excellence Awards are listed below. For more information on why each winner was selected, view the slideshow at the bottom of this article or view the Star of Excellence ceremony program. (PDF)

Central Office

  • Garth D. Bridenbaugh, P.E., civil engineer manager, Bureau of Project Delivery, Highway Administration
  • Jessica L. Clark, transportation planning manager, Center for Program Development & Management, Planning
  • Keith Doersom, chief pilot, Bureau of Aviation, Multimodal Transportation
  • Erica B. Dutton, administrative officer, Office of Deputy Secretary for Administration
  • Jillian L. Harry, district press officer, District 1, Press Office
  • Richard E. Heineman, roadway program manager, Bureau of Maintenance and Operation, Highway Administration
  • Rayna Lemelle, administrative officer, Bureau of Support Services, Driver & Vehicle Services
  • Stephanie J. Shoemaker, accountant, Bureau of Fiscal Management, Administration

District 1 — Oil City/Erie

  • David M. Demyanovich, transportation equipment operator supervisor
  • Jennifer L. Nulph, construction finals unit supervisor

District 2 — Clearfield

  • David R. Karp, transportation construction manager
  • Victoria E. Rusnak, E.I.T., transportation planning manager

District 3 — Montoursville/Williamsport

  • Crista L. Dailey, human resources officer
  • Jennifer A. Reed, roadway programs coordinator

District 4 — Dunmore/Scranton/Wilkes-Barre

  • Charles J. DeFebo, assistant highway maintenance manager
  • Michael J. Nesgoda Jr., building services supervisor

District 5 — Allentown/Lehigh Valley

  • Todd F. Stehle, highway foreman
  • David G. Viola Jr., senior civil engineer supervisor

District 6 — King of Prussia/Philadelphia

  • Vincent J. Cerbone, traffic control specialist manager
  • Marilyn R. Musiowski, clerk typist

District 8 — Harrisburg

  • Douglas E. Knoll, P.E., district bridge engineer
  • Mazhar A. Malik, district permit manager

District 9 — Hollidaysburg/Altoona

  • Zachary R. Ickes, highway foreman
  • Kelli H. Scalia, roadway programs coordinator

District 10 — Indiana

  • Kevin D. Pollino, right-of-way administrator
  • Layne K. Norris, stock clerk

District 11 — Bridgeville/Pittsburgh

  • Joseph W. Kurnot, P.E., senior civil engineer supervisor
  • John B. Myler, transportation construction manager

District 12 — Uniontown

  • Gary V. Ferrari, senior civil engineer supervisor
  • John "Jay" M. Ofsanik, safety press officer

Note: If you are having trouble viewing the slideshow below, you can view the album on Flickr.

Share This