Begin Main Content Area

 PA.AgencyPortal.WebParts.Blogging - BlogPostWebPart

PennDOT Honors Its 2023 Stars of Excellence

October 03, 2023 02:00 PM
By: Elizabeth Foose

​Each year, PennDOT recognizes select employees with its highest honor – the Star of Excellence Award – for embodying the department's values of service, performance, and integrity.

The accomplishments of this year's 31 honorees, who were celebrated at a September 26 ceremony at the State Museum in Harrisburg, exemplify PennDOT's mission to provide the very best transportation services to Pennsylvanians every day.

"I'm continually impressed by the hard work and dedication of the PennDOT team," Secretary Carroll said. "These folks work tirelessly each day to provide safe and efficient transportation for Pennsylvania's residents."

The 2023 Star of Excellence Award winners are listed below. View the award ceremony program (PDF) or browse the full album of pictures to learn more about their outstanding contributions and achievements.

District 1

  • Vincent Mazzocchi, P.E.
  • Benjamin Vincent, P.E.

District 2

  • Eric J. Murnyack, P.E.
  • Brent L. Lykens P.E.

District 3

  • Sheena M. Shannon
  • Dale E. Wolf

District 4

  • Ralph Del Rosso
  • Jeremiah Gonzalo, E.I.T.

District 5

  • Kevin Matthews
  • Albert Gino

District 6

  • Tamara Chiesa
  • Frank J. DiJoseph

District 8

  • Michael R. Ferguson
  • Nevin W. Lehman

District 9

  • Amanda Ehredt
  • Jim Kaseler, P.E.

District 10

  • Matthew J. Burkett
  • Carla K. Studebaker

District 11

  • Andrea A. Nash
  • Michael Szurley, P.E.

District 12

  • Suzanne Buzzelli
  • Cristin M. Covert, P.E.


  • Joel E. Morris


  • Joseph Linderman

Highway Administration

  • Brenda C. Waters
  • Matthew R. Weaver, P.E.


  • Thomas M. Tomczyk
  • John Taylor


  • Robert J. Mulkerin, Jr.

Driver and Vehicle Services

  • Craig Yetter
  • Diosdado Arroyo

Share This